MY MOM’S CLASSIC POLISH CHEESCAKE

If you are in a baking business long enough you start to see a certain rules. For example with cheesecakes – do you know they are magical? I’m serious! They have to be. Otherwise how would you explain that when asked about what their favorite cake is, about 90 percent of people will pick the said cake? Magic is the only logical excuse for a mix of cheese, eggs and sugar to hold such power over the mankind.

Unfortunately for me, I’m not that much influenced by this phenomenon (and I’m really sad about this, you know?). I think I’m just not so much into the taste. Or maybe this has more to do with the fact that lately it’s really hard to find a good quality cheese perfect for a cheesecake. I don’t know… Anyway, from my experience I can also tell you that simply there are cheesecake people and layer cake people, and I belong to the latter type. However, every good rule has its exceptions. There are few recipes for cheesecakes that taste appealing – even to me. This one I have for you today not only tastes great but it also definitely is magical.

It’s my mother’s recipe, for let’s say a traditional polish cheesecake with softened quark. Yet for me, somehow it’s more than just a cheesecake. It’s a spring form filled with stories of how many ideas she had to try and how many cheesecake she had to throw out before she found this perfect set of ingredients. It’s a cake made from childhood memories of holidays, filled with a one of a kind, sweet, vanilla and lemon scent. It’s a creamy taste shared with my teenage friends on yet another birthday party. It’s all that and so much more I couldn’t possibly describe it all in words. So if you try to tell me this isn’t a pure definition of enchantment, than I don’t know what is.

So, for all you believers, here it is. However little cheesecake magic I have, I’m sharing it with you today

My Mother’s Classic Polish Cheesecake

35 oz. of softened/melted quark or cheese for cheesecakes (make sure it’s thick)

6 eggs

1 ½ sticks of butter

1.5 cups of sugar

2 powdered vanilla puddings

A few drops of orange and lemon essence

0.5 cup of raisins (optional)

Put ingredients into a bowl (except raisins) and mix until the batter will be smooth. Stir in the raisins.

Brush the sides of the springform tin with melted butter and put on a baking sheet. Pour in the filling. Bake for about 50 minutes in 190C degrees. Check with a baking stick if the cake is well baked inside. Cool before cutting. Cheesecake tastes the best after few hours in a fridge (preferably after whole night).

That’s it folks. Enjoy!

001

(Recipe used to be on Royal Lilies Blog)
Leave a Reply

