SPINACH CAKE

If you feel confused by the name of this week’s cake, don’t worry, I was confused at first too

I honestly don’t remember if I was a spinach fan since my early days or not, but now I could eat it all week long. For breakfasts (which reminds me! I need to give you my best recipe for spinach muffins), lunches and dinners – give it to me all. So when I heard from my friend she has a recipe for a sweet, yummy cake with spinach – I was all up for it.

For those of you who hate the guts out the “green stuff” I can ensure you – this cake was tested this on few of your kind and they could not believe how amazing it is. Not to mention the wow factor it generates on every party

So here it is – the one and only, amazing recipe for Spinach Cake.

Spinach Cake

2 eggs

3/4 cup sugar

3/4 cup of sunflower oil

1 cup potato flour

1,5 teaspoon baking powder

2 bags of vanilla pudding

1l milk

200g frozen spinach (thaw and squeeze out the water)

1 cup double cream (plus 2 spoons powdered sugar)

Candied cherries or pomegranate

Preheat the oven to 180 ° C.

Mix eggs with sugar until it double the volume. Slowly, while still mixing, add oil, flour and baking powder. Mix in the spinach at the end. Pour the mixture to a small (20cm) spring form tin pan (or a larger one if you prefer a thinner layer of the cake). Bake for about 60 minutes. Cool on the wire rack.

You can cut the top of the cake and leave a bit as a decorative crumble.

Prepare puddings as indicated on the package. Cool it a bit and pour on the spinach cake (it’s best to do it by placing the cake again in a spring form and that put pudding on top). Refrigerate for at least four hours (or even better, whole night).

After four hours beat double cream with two spoons powdered sugar and decorate the cake. You can sprinkle it with cake crumbs and cherries (or pomegranate seeds).

That’s it folks. Enjoy!

010207

Leave a Reply

