PEANUT BUTTER AND JELLY CAKE

This is neither the fanciest, nor the prettiest cake I have ever done but I think it’s one the most loved. Because who doesn’t love peanut butter and jelly?!
I was just bored one day and in such occasions, baking seems to be my natural defense mechanism. I remember browsing through my cookbooks for something to brighten up my mood and my gaze stopped upon a recipe of peanut butter muffins. This made me smile in an instant so I got to work, changing few things in the process. Firstly I was not in mood for muffins. Instead, I made a whole cake. Added a homemade rhubarb and strawberry jam and finished it up whit a topping as on layer cakes.

Simple and fast, yet divine. Just how I like things… I mean, cakes ^^

Anyway, you can use the same recipe and bake it as muffins, without the jelly. It’s totally up to you.

Seriously, muffins version has fans: D It’s you I’m talking about girl! You know who you are!

It’s so worth trying out so what are you waiting for?! You can have it ready in less than an hour: D

 

Peanut butter and Jelly Cake

Peanut butter batter:

100g of soft butter

60g of peanut butter

150g of brown sugar

1 teaspoon of vanilla essence

2 eggs

125g of flour

1 teaspoon of baking powder

pinch of salt

100ml of sour cream or Greek yogurt

Topping:

2 or 3 spoons of favorite jelly (I used homemade rhubarb-strawberry jam)

two packs (at least two, and at least 200g each) of Philadelphia cream cheese or similar)

100g of powdered sugar

few drops of vanilla essence

Preheat the stove to 180 degrees.

Butter beat with the peanut butter until the mixture is soft and smooth. Add sugar while still stirring. Mix in the eggs adding them one by one. Lastly add the flour mixed with baking powder, alternating with cream.

Pour the batter to a springform (a small one) or mini muffins cake tin and bake for about 35 minutes (25 min for muffins) or until the cake will be set inside and browned outside.

For icing mix the cream cheese with vanilla essence and sugar (you can add less or more sugar, it’s all about the taste being sweet enough for you and the consistency thick enough to smear it on the cake or form it nicely on muffins).

When the cake will cool down, smear the top with the jelly (or cut the cake horizontally in halves and put the jelly inside; whatever works best for you) and on the top, finish it with a layer of cream cheese mixture. Leave in a fridge for 15 minutes or start eating right away – I usually do the latter 🙂

That’s it folks. Enjoy!

002cropped-004.jpg

 

 (Recipe used to be on Royal Lilies Blog)
Leave a Reply

