CHOCOLATE CUPCAKES WITH CHOCOLATE MASCARPONE TOPING

 

I don’t think I have to explain to anyone who is even remotely interested in cooking who Nigella Lawson is. Everyone knows who Great Britain’s baking goddess is and I have to say that I simply adore her, too.

I also have a small obsession for her books so having them all in my collection is somewhere in the top twenty of my bucket list. Don’t laugh people, this is serious business! However, I’m not the kind of person who gets blinded by love (what a shame…) and I’m not saying that all her recipes are “the_best_ one_and_only_food law” but her attitude, positivity, and general behavior in kitchen, for me, are flawless.

That’s why we have a lot in common, Nigella and I (^^), and I guess this is how the column Food that looks like a Million Dollar’ struck to me. It will contain simple, tasty recepies for dishes, cakes, etc that require almost no effort and still have looks to kill, like you had spent the whole day in the kitchen, playing miracle-maker in an apron.

I don’t know about you but for me, the wow factor is essential, even if you’re doing something for your own breakfast. After all, we are eating not only with our taste but with all senses.

So let’s start with something quick, fun, and beautiful.

Chocolate Cupcakes with Chocolate Mascarpone Toping

(Recipe inspired by Nigella)

For cupcakes:

200g plain flour

25g cocoa powder

1 tablespoon baking powder

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

115g brown caster sugar

2 eggs

100ml sunflower oil

225ml milk

A handful of chocolate chips

For icing:

500ml of double cream

300g of dark chocolate

Line a 12-hole muffin tin with muffin paper cases.

Sift the flour, cocoa and baking powder, sugar and cinnamon into a large bowl. Place the eggs and oil in a separate bowl and whisk until frothy, then gradually whisk in the milk. Stir the dry ingredients in until just blended.

Spoon the mixture into the paper cases, filling each half full (chocolate cake rises more than a plain one while baking).

Bake in the oven (preheated to 200°C) for 20 minutes, then remove the muffins and cool on a wire rack.

For icing:

Heat up the double cream (do not boil) and take it off the stove. Break the chocolate into pieces and let it melt in the cream while stirring from time to time. Cool it down in the fridge (you can leave it in for the night) and when cooled, whip the mixture.

With the help of a pastry bag, decorate the cupcakes.

That’s it folks. Enjoy!

SONY DSC

(Recipe used to be on Royal Lilies Blog)

Leave a Reply

