Cheesy Soldier Cookies

on

Finally it’s December! 😀


So, my household has a rule that when December 1st knocks to my door I can start decorating, sing Christmas songs from the top of my lungs and really get into a christmassy mood because hey, it’s December, right? That’s what the month is for.

And honestly, for me the best part of Christmas is waiting for Christmas so I like to have this time celebrated properly 😀

And here we’re reaching the clue o the matter at hand – I started baking for Christmas!
(And for this whole period of time remaining to Christmas :D)
Firstly on my platter you’ll find Cheesy Cookies. Cheesecake is a holiday tradition in most of Polish homes but as you know from my previous posts, I’m not a huge fan so those cookies are my alternative 😀

You might ask why the soldier shape? Well, they remind of a time in my life when every year, before Christmas I went to the theatre for Tchaikovsky’s ballet “The Nutcracker”.  I’m going to see it this year too soo … 😀 Aren’t they awesome?

They also have one of a kind texture and the only source of sweetnes is the sugar on the top of cookies. I really can’t recommend those cookies enough – you have to try 😀

150g flour
150g cottage cheese
1 yolk and 1 egg
150g chilled butter
a few drops of vanilla oil
sugar for sprinkling

Flour, egg yolk, butter, cottage cheese and vanilla quickly knead to a smooth dough.
Roll out to a thickness of 5 mm and cut out biscuits. If the dough is sticky, add some flour.

Beat the egg and cover cookies with it, sprinkle with a fair amount of sugar.

Bake in 200C for 12-15 minutes.

That’s it folks. Enjoy!

watermark-27watermark-31watermark-41watermark-32watermark-35watermark-43watermark-38watermark-34

 

Leave a Reply

